The Vampire Lestat

by

The Vampire Lestat

Author: Anne Rice

Title: The Vampire Lestat

Genre: Horror

Publication Date: 1985

Number of Pages: 496

Geographical Setting: Louisiana, France

Time Period: Modern Era/ Pre-Revolutionary France

Series: Part Two of the Vampire Chronicles

Plot Summary: This story follows the vampire Lestat, going from his mortal years through his transformation and present day. Lestat awakens after fifty years of being asleep and decides not to lead a secretive vampire existence, but to become a rock star! He also tries to find the origin of his vampire species and to waken those who are still asleep. Lestat was originally introduced in the first book of the Vampire Chronicles, Interview with a Vampire.

Subject Headings: France – Fiction; Rock — Fiction; Vampire– Fiction; Super-Natural – Fiction; Horror – Fiction

Appeal: Super-natural, Psychological, Thrilling, Action, Adventure, Dangerous, Dark, Creepy, Suspenseful, Character-Driven, Even-Paced, Philosophical

Three appeal terms:  Super-Natural, Creepy, Dark

Three fiction read-alikes:

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

This story is book one in The Twilight Saga. It follows Belle Swan when she moves to Forks to live with her father. There she meets Edward Cullen, a vampire. He has kept his identity as a secret till he reveals himself to Bella, and now she is in danger and he must protect her.

Helsing by Kohta Hirano

This is a Japanese manga focusing on Helsing. Helsing is part of a secret organization in England tasked with taking on monsters and vampires. It doesn’t hurt that Helsing himself is a vampire with a special pistol with silver bullets.

Salem’s Lot by Stephen King

This story follows Ben Mears, a writer, who returns home after twenty-five years to write about the old Marsten House. When all of a sudden it seems there is a vampire outbreak in the town. A very gripping and suspenseful horror story told by the master of horror Stephen King.

Three related non-fiction titles:

Dracula the Price with Many Faces: His Life and Times by Radu R Florescu and Raymond T. McNally

This book is the true account of Vlad Dracula king of Romania. He was nicknamed the Impaler, because he would impale his enemies alive and leave them as a warning to other would-be enemies. One of the cruelest rulers ever to be king in Europe, but honored by his country-men.

The Vampire Book: The Encyclopedia of The Undead by J. Gordon Melton

This encyclopedia of Vampires covers the lore of the legendary creature. It goes in depth on the Vampire’s history, as well as, its influence in literature, and modern incarnations of the Vampire myth.

Vampire God: The Allure of the Undead in Western Culture by Mary Y. Hallab

This book looks at the enduring popularity of the Vampire myth and why it is so. It also looks at the original Vampire legends and myths, as well as, literature and movies created from it.

Charles Ford

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers