Cell

by

Author: Stephen King

Genre: Horror; Audio Book

Publication Date: 2006

Number of Pages: 12.5 hours

Geographical Setting: post-Apocalyptic America (begins in Boston)

Time Period: sometime in the near, or hopefully not so near, future

Plot Summary: Have you ever been annoyed by someone talking too loud on their phone? Perhaps you were talking to a friend and all of a sudden they answer their phone, interrupting your conversation with them. Stephen King explores the possibility of a global pulse sent through cell phones that automatically turns all of the people using their cell phones into cannibalistic zombies. I think I’d rather just deal with the rude cell phone users, what about you? The story centers on a character named Clayton Riddel. He directly witnesses the moment the pulse turns normal people into violent psychopaths. A hero in his own right, he joins two others, who were not affected by the pulse, and travels to try and find his son. Is his son still alive or has he turned into one of the affected? What will happen during their journey there? The narrator of this particular audio book is Campbell Scott. Scott uses a disaffected voice that allows you to sink into the chilling violence and frightening content of the book. Cell is an horrifically great audio book, that you won’t want to stop listening to until the very end.

Subject Headings: Apocalypse Stories; Zombies; Technological Meltdown; Separated friends/relatives

Appeal: fast-paced, plot-driven, suspenseful, compelling, creepy, gritty, descriptive, scary, unsettling, strong language, atmospheric, intriguing characters

Three Words or Phrases Best Describing this Book: unsettling, plot-driven, creepy

Similar Authors and Works

3 Relevant Non-Fiction Works and Authors

Aftermath: Prepare for and Survive Apocalypse 2012 by Lawrence E. Joseph (those who enjoy apocalyptic fiction, often wonder about the real end of the world and what might happen. This book explores the apocalypse, perhaps in a way that is even more horrific than Stephen King, because the author tries to base it on fact.)

Field Guide to the Apocalypse: Movie Survival Skills for the End of the World by Meghann Marco (explores more unlikely apocalypse scenarios based on those in movies, and gives information on how to deal with them. Compelling tone, and more lighthearted if reader doesn’t want to explore more likely apocalypse scenarios)

Cell Phones: Invisible Hazards in the Wireless Age: An Insider’s Alarming Discoveries about Cancer and Genetic Damage by Dr. George Carlo & Dr. Martin Schram (explores realistic effects of cell phone usage, may interest Cell readers looking to further explore likely effects of cell phone usage)

3 Relevant Fiction Works and Authors

The strain by Guillermo del Toro (compelling, gritty, detailed, creepy, fast-paced, similar storyline, outbreak of people turned killers)

Zombie apocalypse! by Stephen Jones (zombie-like evil people, fast-paced, creepy, horror story, set in well-known cities)

Dead Lines by Greg Bear (explores possible negative impacts of new technology, disturbing tone, fast-paced, compelling, and recommended as a readalike for Cell on Fiction_L)

Name: Tara Bauer

Advertisements

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: