Fire and Ice

by

Author: Garwood, Julie

Title: Fire and Ice

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Publciation Date: 2008

Number of Pages: 352

Geographical Setting: Chicago, Illinois; Prudhoe Bay, Alaska.

Time Period: Contemporary

Series (If applicable): Buchanan Novels ( 7 of 8 )

Plot Summary: Sophie Rose is a feisty and tenacious journalist with a nose for a good story. When Sophie leaves her job at a major Chicago newspaper to work for a small local paper in Alaska, she unintentionally finds herself in the middle of a bizarre story. Far from the city crime beat, she now covers local stories and showcases hometown personalities, such as the winner of several area 5K marathons. When that runner turns up dead with Sophie’s business card tucked into one of his trademark red socks, Sophie follows the trail of the mystery north to Prudhoe Bay, Alaska. She is accompanied by former FBI agent Jack MacAlister, who serves as her bodyguard. Sophie and Jack face the dangers of the Alaskan wilderness, as well as their growing attraction toward each other.

Subject Headings: Conspiracies, Former FBI Agents, Bodyguards, Attraction, Male/Female Relationships, Protectiveness in Men, Moving to a New State, Murder Investigation, Small Towns, Female Journalists

Appeal: Action-Packed, Character-Driven, Fast-Paced, Atmospheric, Dramatic, Romantic, Steamy, Suspenseful, Conversational, Descriptive, Dialogue-Rich, Simple Language.

3 appeal terms that best describe this book: Action-Packed, Steamy, and Suspenseful.

3 Relevant Fiction Works and Authors:

Always Time to Die by Elizabeth Lowell

Similar to Sophie Rose, the heroin of this book is a writer who seeks to uncover hidden secrets. Similar to Fire and Ice, this book features action, adventure and romance. Readers who enjoy Romantic Suspense with strong female lead characters may enjoy this book.

The Maze: FBI Series by Catherine Coulter

This book introduces Catherine Coulter’s famous FBI couple, Lacey Sherlock and Dillon Savich. While these characters reappear in many of her books, this book follows a similar pattern to Fire and Ice in that it follows the characters as they solve a mystery, falling in love in the process.

Show No Mercy by Cindy Gerard

This is the first book in Gerard’s well-reviewed Black Ops series. Readers who enjoy Fire and Ice will likely be drawn to many of this book’s similar features. It has a female journalist, political conspiracy, action, adventure, and of course… romance.

3 Relevant Non-Fiction Works and Authors:

Call of the Wild: My Escape to Alaska by Guy Grieve

Alaska serves as an essential backdrop to Fire and Ice. The setting has a significant impact upon the way in which the plot unfolds. Readers who are drawn to Fire and Ice because of its setting may also be drawn to Grieve’s account of his time spent in the Alaskan wilderness.

Emus Loose in Egnar: Big Stories from Small Towns by Judy Muller

The evolution of Sophie’s career as a journalist, especially her transition from the big city to a small town, has significant impact upon her character development. Readers drawn to stories about journalists in small towns may find this an interesting read.

The FBI Career Guide: Inside Information on Getting Chosen for and Succeeding in One of the Toughest, Most Prestigious Jobs in the World by Joseph W. Koletar

Similarly, Jack’s past as an FBI Agent plays a significant role in shaping his character and his personality. Readers drawn to stories about FBI Agents or former FBI Agents may be interested in learning more about the profession.

Name: Brigitte Bell

Advertisements

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: