An Unlikely Countess

by

Author: Jo Beverly

Title: An Unlikely Countess

Genre: Historical Romance

Publication Date: March 1, 2011

Number of Pages: 432

Geographical Setting: Yorkshire, England

Time Period:  Georgian Era, 1765

Series (If applicable): 11th Novel of the Malloren World

Plot Summary: On a dark night Catesby Burgoyne encounters Prudence Youlgrave and he saves her from a few ruffians.  Their encounter was not just chance.  They parted ways the next morning but they did not easily forget each other.  Both were down on their luck and not on the best terms with their families. Catesby is 2nd in line to become the Earl of Malzard and while Prudence’s family is not wealthy by any means, she feels her brother owes her for her sacrifices.  Catesby discovers that his brother, the current Earl, has died and he heads home to take on his duties as the new Earl.  Prudence heads to her brother’s home and encourages his new bride to assist her in finding a good marriage match.  Prudence is to wed a wealthy business man, but of course she never forgot Catesby and he never forgot her.  While he was supposed to be learning his duties as the new Earl he runs off to find Prudence.  Again they meet on what was to be Prudence’s wedding day, what ensues is a romantic, yet witty adventure of two once down and out people who become the unlikely Earl and Countess of Malzard.

Subject Headings: Historical Romances; Georgian England; 18th Century England

Appeal: witty, engaging, complex characters, captivating plot, delightful, fast-paced, romantic, playful, sensual, historically accurate, gentle, character-centered

3 appeal terms that best describe this book: romantic, engaging, delightful

Similar Authors and Works (why are they similar?):

3 Relevant Non-Fiction Works and Authors:

1)     Aristocratic Century: the Peerage of Eighteenth-Century England by Jon Cannon – Using parts of a lecture he gave in 1982, Professor Cannon outlines the ways in which the aristocracy of the 18th century was widely accepted by all levels of society which allowed for coherence in all aspects of life, intellectual, political and social.  A non-fiction read-alike choice for An Unlikely Countess because many of the characters were part of the aristocracy and the novel discussed the lives and rules surrounding the aristocracy.

2)     Behind Closed Doors: at home in Georgian England by Amanda Vickery – Professor Vickery uses her skills as a historian to deliver a well-researched account of the family and gender relations / roles of Georgian England.  Although a historian she has written a witty and vivid work, which is almost novel-like.  Using books, journals, letters, etc, she paints a picture of Georgian life that has not been seen before.  Similar to An Unlikely Countess in that we get a behind the scenes look at the domestic lives and relationships of the aristocracy of the Georgian period in the novel and this book also depicts that life in more depth. (well-researched, witty, vivid)

3)     English Society in he Eighteenth Century by Roy Porter – In this non-fiction work Porter portrays all aspects of 18th century from politics to work life, to sex.  It is a fact-filled, but delightful and witty account of life including all levels of society from prices to paupers and from the streets of London to the hamlets of Yorkshire. Non-fiction read-alike for An Unlikely Countess because it discusses the different aspects of life in the 18th century which is the time in which the characters live. (Fact-filled, witty, delightful)

3 Relevant Fiction Works and Authors:

1)     Some Enchanted Evening by Christina Dodd – Clarice and her two sisters flee from their small country during a revolution are being tracked by assassins.  However, Clarice hides in plain site by selling cosmetics to townswomen and pretends to be a fallen princess.  Robert Mackenzie, the Earl of Hepburn, knows that Clarice is not a princess and is just playing a part.  He invites her to his manor, she accepts, his plan is to use her acting skills in a plot of revenge.  Danger and adventure ensue.  This is the first in a trilogy about the 3 sisters.  This is a read-alike for An Unlikely Countess because it is a historical romance and although it is set during the Regency era and not the Georgian, it is still a good match due to the humor and sensuality used.  (steamy, humorous, detailed)

2)     Dangerous in Diamonds by Madeline Hunter – In the fourth Rarest Blooms Regency romance by Hunter, we encounter Daphne Joyes who runs a modest flower business, which also acts as a place of refuge for women in need of safety.  Daphne’s landlord soon dies and she meets Tristan, Duke of Castleford who inherits the land.  Tristan is instantly taken with Daphne, but she resists and a story of passionate arguments, flirtation and eventual romance. Although this is a Victorian romance, it is similar to An Unlikely Countess in that it is a witty, richly detailed, historical romance. (steamy, descriptive, witty)

3)     Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt – Temperance Dews is a widow who spends her time helping children.  Lord Caire is on the hunt for a killer in the slums which are so familiar to Temperance.  The two strike a deal that will allow Temperance to guide Caire through the alleys and slums while Caire will introduce Temperance to high society so that she might find a benefactor for the orphanage.  A romance and passion soon blossoms from what began as a business deal and danger is around every corner.  Similar to An Unlikely Countess as it is a fast-paced, detailed, historical romance set in Georgian England.  (steamy, descriptive, Georgian)

Name: Michelle Worthington

Advertisements

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: