Gil’s All Fright Diner

by

Gil’s All Fright Diner

Author: A. Lee Martinez

Title: Gil’s All Fright Diner

Genre: Fantasy

Publication Date: 2005

Number of Pages: 268

Geographical Setting: The fictional county of Rockwood in Texas.

Time Period: Contemporary.

Series: Standalone

A vampire and a werewolf are driving down a road and come across a diner where the owner is facing a major problem.   It seems that the dead from a nearby cemetery are rising.  The diner, as it turns out, is the target of a vicious plot to start an all-out Armageddon, and it is up to Earl, Duke, and Loretta to put a stop to the evil shenanigans.

Subject Headings: Zombies – Fiction; Vampires — Fiction; Werewolves – Fiction; Magic – Fiction; Ghosts – Fiction; Restauranteurs – Fiction; Diners (Restaurants) – Fiction; Horror Fiction; Humorous Fiction

Appeal: Quirky, fantastic voyage of the mind, clever, rooting for the heroes, hilarious, tongue- in-cheek look at supernatural, weirdness abounds, wry, thrilling, strong atmospheric western setting, warped, and gonzo.

Three appeal terms:  action filled, buddy adventure, odd phenomena.

Three read-alikes:

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

Waitress Sookie Stackhouse gets involved with Bill Compton, a vampire, who is a suspect for the murders occurring around the small town of Bon Temps.  Will it lead to her demise?  This snappy, southern flavored tale of vampire love introduces a beloved series of mystery and romantic mayhem.

Carpe Jugulum by Terry Pratchett

King Verence makes the mistake of inviting a band of vampires to a ceremony and they’re determined to stay.  The witches of Lancre must wage war if they ever want to regain their peaceful home, and the poor officiating Reverend Mightily Oats is entrenched in the feud.

Lullabye by Chuck Palahniuk

Carl Streator has stumbled across a ‘culling song’, which was created to kill whoever listens to it.  Now he and his unlikely posse, which includes hard-edged realtor Helen Hoover Boyle, her Wiccan secretary Mona and Mona’s slacker boyfriend Oyster, are traveling together with the goal to gather all the copies of the song and destroy them – and try not to kill anyone along the way.

Three related nonfiction titles:

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream by Hunter S. Thompson

To the hitchhiker he and his pal pick up in the desert, Hunter S. Thompson confides, “I want you to know that we’re on the way to Las Vegas to find the American Dream.” (6) Thus encapsulates the incredible drugged odyssey of reporter Hunter S. Thompson and his Samoan attorney on a very important assignment.

Weird Texas: Your Travel Guide to Texas’s Local Legends and Best Kept Secrets by Wesley Treat, Heather Shade, and Rob Riggs.

You don’t need a constant supply of hallucinogens to find that the west is indeed a bizarre place.  This compendium contains tales of alien abductions, ghost sightings, and quirky roadside attractions, all submitted through the channels of local folklore.   Stories range from the Donkey Lady by San Antonio to the mysterious Marfa lights to Texas’s own Eiffel Tower and Stonehenge II, and some of the illustrations are downright chilling.

Spook: Science Tackles the Afterlife, by Mary Roach

Is the soul a physical substance, and, if so, what is it made of?  What is ectoplasm?  What would ghosts be capable of and how would they influence the living?  Mary Roach examines these questions without agenda or preconceived notions, applying a scientific mind to what happens after someone dies.

— Kate Jelinski

Advertisements

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: