Brimstone

by

Brimstone

Author: Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

Title: Brimstone

Genre: Suspense

Publication Date: 2005

Number of Pages: 752

Geographical Setting: Italy

Time Period: Modern Era

Series: Part One of the Diogenes Trilogy

Plot Summary: This story follows Agent Pendergast in one of his most puzzling and foreboding cases where it seems a murder victim may have entered into a “Faustic” pact with the devil leaving only smoldering remains along with hoof prints singed into the floor. Pendergast knows that everything points to the super-natural, but he is not so sure.
This story is definitely a mind blowing adventure that is face paced, yet filled with twists and turns. Follow Agent Pendergast is his thrilling quest to find out if there truly was a pact with the devil or a man who might be the devil himself. This is the first book in the Diogenes Trilogy.

Subject Headings: Italy – Fiction; Mystery — Fiction; Serial Murders– Fiction; Super-Natural – Fiction; Suspense – Fiction

Appeal: Super-natural, Psychological, Thrilling, Action, Adventure, Dangerous, Dark, Creepy, Suspenseful, investigative, Serial murder, Cerebral, Fast-paced

Three appeal terms: Super-Natural, Psychological, Suspenseful

Three read-alikes:

Along Came a Spider by James Patterson
This story is a psychological suspense-thriller. It follows Alex Cross as he tries to outsmart a psychopathic serial kidnapper and murderer who terrorize government agencies. Twists and turns abound in this gripping story.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
Lisbeth Salander is a computer hacker who does background investigations when she gets mixed up with financial journalist Carl Mikael Blomkvist who has just been convicted of libeling a financier. Lisbeth is not opposed to her own interesting forms of retribution against those who harm her. She helps Carl unravel the sick mystery behind a missing girl where twists and turns abound. This book also deals with violence against women and psychological trauma. This is the first book in the Millennium Series.

The Suicide Effect by L.J. Sellers
Sula works at Prolab, a company that develops drugs. When she overhears the shocking truth behind a drug being developed by her company she is indecisive about what to do. The drug’s lead scientist disappears, so it’s up to Sula to expose the truth. Many people’s lives are at stake but her CEO is desperate and will do anything to stop her from telling the truth about the new drug.

Three related non-fiction titles:

Mind Hunter: Inside the FBI’s Elite Serial Crime Unit by John Douglas and Marc Olshaker
This book follows the twenty-five year career of John Douglas with the Investigative Support Unit. This is a true look into some of his most gruesome, dark, and chilling cases.

Vengeance: The True Story of an Israeli Counter-Terrorist Team by George Jonas
This is the true story of five every-day Israelis who are tasked to hunt down and kill the PLO terrorists responsible for the attacks at the Munich Olympics in 1972. A true story filled with suspense and secrets.

Florida Pulp Nonfiction: True crime in the Sunshine State by Bob Norman
Journalist Bob Norman writes about true crimes in Florida. Everything from terrorists, gun-smuggles, drug lords, and off the reservation federal agents. This book is a great read to look into the ugly heart of the sunshine state.

– Charles Ford

Advertisements

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: